

# Trafalgar Golf Club Inc.

# 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

DATE: Wednesday 31 August 2022 7.00 pm

LOCATION: Trafalgar Golf Club Clubhouse 230 Gibsons Road Trafalgar

#### In attendance:

Board Members: Stewart Cluning (President), Peter Moss (Captain), Michael Lewis (Vice Captain), Jeff Gray (Secretary), Paul Fogarty (Treasurer), Chris Griffin (Vice President), Graeme Harris (Board), Steve Gould (Board), Brian McKenzie (Board)

Life members: Olwyn Balfour, Russell Balfour, Gavin Patchett, Ken Rogers, Jeff Hasthorpe

Members: Michael Bennett, Tony O'Reilly, Jordan Chapman, Duane Baker, David Balfour, Brian Fox, Ed Hayward, Harold McNair, Pat O'Connell, Keith Owen, Graeme Grant, Max Taylor, Richard Gould, Stephen Gould, Peter Griffin, Norm Mether, Ian Outhred, Noel Cornish, Shane Dwyer, Jan Griffin, Pat Harris, Karen MacGregor, Anne Outhred, Sue Balfour, Aileen McNair, Lyn Powell,

Apologies: Brian Wattchow (Board), Glenn Doolan (Board), Mick Hall, Jo Baker, Greg Chapple, Linda Chapple, Dennis Scambler, John Bayley, Diane Bayley, Hanke Fidelaars, Ian Charge, June Tickell, Bev Keily, Cheryl Deppeler, Vivienne Davy, Kerren Ludlow, Lorna Risol, Christine Lansdown, Olive Robinson, Greg Evison, Peter Burghardt, Les Ellis, Mick Poxon, Russell Marshall, Mitchell McIntosh, Steve Titford, Ron Keith, Brad Griffin, Peter Grima, Rob Phoenix, Heather Savige, Jim O'Brien, Roy Whatmough, Bruce Aplin, Rhonda Mether, Marg Grant, Phil Town, George Petkovic, Mark Hiriart, Sue DeVries, Chris Moody, Di Moody, Gary Jansen, Scott McKinnon, Brian Barnes, Anthony Cunningham, Bronwyn Wallace, Ken Street, Reno Borg, Warrick Griggs, Bruce Aplin, Shirley Matthews, Geoff Coulter, Fred Dyke, Steve Clark, Tony Gray, Bob Baldry, Russell Cook, Andrew Tangusso, Steve Klemke, Marilyn Kerr, John Kerr, Barry Ludlow, Bob Pearce, John Robinson, Cheryl Toyne,

#### WELCOME

President Stewart Cluning opened the meeting by welcoming those in attendance, including Life Members Gavin Patchett, Jeff Hasthorpe, Olwyn Balfour and Russell Balfour (Ken Rogers was thanked when he arrived later).

The President then welcomed Past President Brian Fox to address the meeting.

#### **MINUTES OF THE 2021 AGM**

There was no Business Arising from the minutes

That the Minutes of the Trafalgar Golf Club Annual General Meeting held on 24<sup>th</sup> November 2021 be accepted.

Moved: Chris Griffin Seconded: Peter Moss

Carried

## PRESIDENT'S REPORT (113TH CLUB ANNUAL REPORT)

The President then spoke to the club's Annual Report, commenting on it being an excellent year for the club; with growth in membership, significant investment planned, and the high quality of the course. He thanked the staff, Board and volunteers and noted that the Club now employs a first-year apprentice (Jordan Chapman).

That the 2022 President's report be received

Moved: Stewart Cluning Seconded: Keith Owen

Carried

Harold McNair asked that the Membership Category list on p7 of the Annual Report be amended to correctly reflect that the correct Category is "Senior 9 hole"; not "9 hole". This was agreed.

#### TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer directed members to his report; he highlighted a growth in profit (approx. \$120 000 this year compared to \$97 000 last year) but pointed out the \$74 000 in State Government contributions due to Covid-19. Once again it was pointed out that members at Trafalgar Golf Club pay low membership fees compared to other Gippsland Clubs. The Treasurer also thanked the sponsors who have stuck by us during the difficult Covid-19 times, and the volunteers who contributed an estimated \$100 000 in savings.

That the 2022 Treasurer's Report, Annual Financial Statements and Account Balance Sheets be received.

Moved: Paul Fogarty Seconded: Karen MacGregor

Carried

# **APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR**

That the Trafalgar Golf Club appoints Vic Hill as Club Auditor for 2022 / 2023

Moved: Peter Moss Seconded: Keith Owen

Carried

#### APPOINTMENT OF CLUB PATRON

That the Trafalgar Golf Club appoints Lachy McCrorey as Club Patron for 2022 / 2023

Moved: Jeff Hasthorpe Seconded: Ken Rogers

Carried

#### APPOINTMENT OF GOLF WEST GIPPSLAND DELEGATES

That Trafalgar Golf Club appoints Trafalgar's Men's and Ladies' Captains as the GWG Delegates for 2022 / 2023.

Moved: Michael Lewis Seconded: Karen MacGregor

Carried

# **AWARD OF LIFE MEMBERSHIP**

Stewart Cluning introduced this item and spoke to the motion below.

That Trafalgar Golf Club award Life membership to Mr Brian Fox for his service to the Club.

Moved: Michael Lewis Seconded: Stewart Cluning

Carried Unanimously

#### **BOARD ELECTIONS**

The following Board members continue to serve in their second year and did not face election: Chris Griffin (Vice President), Michael Lewis (Vice Captain), Paul Fogarty (Treasurer), Brian Wattchow (Board), Brian McKenzie (Board), Glenn Doolan (Board).

Russ Balfour and Gavin Patchett acted as scrutineers.

The secretary then conducted Board elections by poll as follows:

#### PRESIDENT (One vacancy)

(Nominees Stewart Cluning and Chris Griffin)

Chris Griffin was declared the winner after all votes including proxies were counted.

This caused a consequential vacancy for Vice-President, as Chris Griffin was required to step down from this role.

Nominations were then called from the floor for Vice-President

Nominee: Brian McKenzie

Moved: Michael Lewis

Seconded: Tony O'Reilly

Carried

#### SECRETARY (One vacancy)

One nomination had been received for Secretary; the nomination was put to the members.

Nominee: Jeff Gray

Endorsed overwhelmingly

# **CAPTAIN** (One vacancy)

One nomination had been received for Captain; the nomination was put to the members.

Nominee: Peter Moss

Endorsed overwhelmingly

#### **BOARD** (Three vacancies)

As Brian McKenzie had been elected as Vice-President, he stood down as a general member of the Board, creating three vacancies in total.

Nominees: Shane Dwyer / Graeme Harris / Steve Gould

All nominees were endorsed overwhelmingly

Outgoing President Stewart Cluning then returned to the Chair and congratulated all successful candidates to the new Board and invited incoming President Chris Griffin to speak.

The incoming President then addressed the meeting.

A motion calling for a 'note of thanks' for the work of outgoing President Stewart Cluning was put.

Moved: Jeff Hasthorpe

Seconded: Ian Outhred

Carried

Meeting closed: 8.25 p.m.